Fear, the great paralyser

An illusion yet feels so real
Post Reply [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Teresa French
Community Member
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Fear, the great paralyser

Post by Teresa French » Wed Aug 26, 2015 10:41 pm

One thing I have learned just in the past year is how utterly and completely fear has impacted every single thing I have ever done in my life.

Since I started learning more through therapy about how stuck in survival mode I have been my entire life, and through slowly easing my central nervous system out of that (slowly teaching my primitive brain that there isn't a bus going to run me over 24x7) I have begun to see very clearly how every decision I have made is poisoned by fear. You cannot think about anything else when you are fighting for your life (even if it isn't real, but your primitive brain screams at you that it is - this is the work I have been doing - to lessen the screaming, and eventually settle that down completely, so my higher brain functions can start working).

Now I am happy to notice that I am a lot more calm and the decisions I am making are more logical and rational, although I know I am not quite done there yet! I am still looking for a tick in the box of when I will be "done" - a sign there is still fight/flight going on in me.

The whole point of my focus on this trauma system is that this state I have been in my entire life has kept me from opening my soul, feeling what is in it and creating a desire for love from God and others. Just in the past week I have noticed a shift in that - I am feeling more open, more responsive, more sensitive to what I am feeling.